Impact Of Birth Thithi

In our previous articles we learnt about meaning of Panchang and effect of Birthvar or Birthday. 2nd limb or 2nd ang of Panchang is “Thithi”. In this topic we know the meaning of Thithi and impact of Birth Thithi. In same time we also know about effect of lunar month(Mass), lunar Paksha, Rithu, ayan of sun, and kaal or prahar. We cover all this with effect of Thithi, because effect of thithi must be co-related with all this factor.

Meaning of Thithi 

  • Our Vedic calendar is based on Lunar month and Lunar Thithi.
  • One day of Lunar month is called one Thithi.
  • One Thithi is time at which Moon moves 12degree away from Sun. Means Tithi or lunar day is a period in which the difference between the longitudes of Moon and Sun changes by exactly 12°.
  • When Sun and Moon is at same longitude or in simple same degree that day is called Amavasya. Mean when Sun and Moon conjucted at same degree then this is known as Amavasya.
  • Now when Moon start moving away from Sun then new thithi is starting. This is known as Shukla Pratipada because now moon is away from Sun and bright half month is started. Once moon travel exact 12° away from Sun then a new Thithi started. It is dwithiya or Second thithi. When Moon’s longitude is exactly 24° greater than Sun’s longitude, then second tithi finishes and the third tithi starts. When Moon’s longitude is exactly 36° greater than Sun’s longitude, the third tithi finished and the fourth tithi starts. And so on……

Way of Calculation of Thithi

  • You can see that in thithi, Sun-Moon longitude difference will be run as (12 x n)°.
  • Where “n” denote number of Thithi.
  • A lunar month consists of 30 tithis.
  • Each month is divided into two fortnights or pakshas.
  • During Sukla/Suddha paksha or the brighter fortnight, Moon is waxing.
  • When Moon and Sun is at Same degree it is Amavasya.
  • Now Moon is fastest moving planet so it is goes forward and moved  away from Sun then Shukla pakhsha is Started.
  • And so during the period when Moon moves 0 to 12° is 1st Thithi or Shukla Pratipada.
  • During this paksha, Moon is ahead of Sun by an amount that is between 0º and 180º.
  • At exactly 180° difference between Sun and Moon it is Purnima. After moving away from 180º, new Paksha is starting.
  • After Purnima new month of Krishna paksha started.
  • During Krishna/Bahula paksha or the darker fortnight, Moon is waning. During this paksha, Moon is ahead of Sun by an amount that is between 180º and 360º. And at 360º or 0º it is Amavasya.

Note the point which can be useful for You.

  • When Moon is forward 0 to 7th Bhav from Sun it is in Shukla pakhsha.
  • When Moon is forward 7th to 12th , 12th to 0 Bhav it is Krishna paksha.
  • Here we consider Sun degree as mid point.

Look at this chart.

Method of calculations of Thithi

We can find the tithi running on a day from the longitudes of Sun and Moon using the following process.

  • (1) Find the difference:
  • (Moon’s longitude – Sun’s longitude).
  • Note — (Add 360° if the result is negative.)
  • Result will be between 0° and 360° and will show how advanced Moon is with respect to Sun.
  • (2) Divide this result by 12°.
  • Ignore the remainder and take the quotient.
  • (3) Add 1 to the quotient.
  • You get a number from 1 to 30. That will give the index of  the tithi running according to above chart.
  • (4) Refer to Table  and find the name of the tithi. There are 15 tithis and the same tithis repeat in the brigher and darker fortnights.
  • For example,if we get 22 from above calculation then  it can be seen from the table that the 22th tithi out of the 30 tithis is in Krishna paksha and it is Saptami.
  • So the 22nd tithi is “Krishna Saptami”.

Let’s take a example. So we can understand properly.

  • Let us say that Moon is at 24°12′ in Gemini. So it’s mean
  • This is (2 x 30°) + 24° 12′ = 84° 12′ Moon from the beginning of the zodiac.
  • Let us say that Sun is at 17°46′ in Scorpio.
  • This is (7 x 30°) + 17° 46′ = 227° 46′ from the beginning of the zodiac.
  • Moon – Sun = 84° 12′ – 227° 46′ =  – (143° 34′).
  • It is negative because Sun is at a higher longitude.
  • We have to add 360° to it to make it positive.
  • It becomes 216° 26′.
  • So this is the advancement of Moon with respect to Sun.
  • Converting this to a decimal number, we get 216.43°. We have to divide it by 12°.
  • We find 216.43 ÷ 12 and the quotient is 18.
  • So 18 tithis are over.
  • Adding 1 to it, we get 19 and
  • so the 19th tithi is running. Referring to Table , we see that this is
  • “Chaturthi” tithi of Krishna paksha (darker fortnight). So it is “Krishna Chaturthi”.Now we have to know Moon is transit in all 12 sign in 28days.

Some other import point, we have to know

  • Sun is transit 1 degree in 1 days.
  • So At 30 days  Sun is transit 1 sign
  • So at one Amavasya  to another Amavasya Moon has traveling 12sign + 1sign which is forward by Sun.
  • Suppose Sun in Aries sign and this time Amavasya.
  • So After around 1month Sun in Taurus.
  • So This time Amavasya in Taurus sign at when Sun and Moon degree is same .
  • So Amavasya in Taurus sign.
  • That’s my mean Moon travel 12sign +1 Sign where Sun is actually placed current time.

Now we understand the concept of thithi so we know the effect of thithi.

  • Pratipada (1st Thithi ) – Person born in Pratipada tithi, he will be doing great deeds. He may be works hard work. He has good or noble character or Punya charitra.
  • Dwitiyia (2nd Thithi) – He will has aura (tej) on face. He has wealth of cattle (in modern day vehicle), power, strength, fame, wealth or money.
  • Tritiya(3rd Thithi) – He will be religious or Punyatma. He will be suffering from fears or doesn’t having good physical or mental strength.  But he is smart in talking.
  • Chaturthi (4th tithi) He will be faithful of masses or public. He is wandering by nature or loves traveling. He will be experts in mantra.
  • Pancham (5th tithi)– He is very inclination towards learning of traditional knowledge, ved, vedanga, sastra etc. He is sensual. He is rest less or movable by nature. His physique may be lean or thin.
  • Shasti (6th thiti) – He has very little strength. But he is just king. He is very learned. But he may be angry in temper.
  • Saptami (7th Thithi) – His way of talking is very hard or harsh. He is lord or leader of people. He may be suffering from kapha related issues. He is powerful person.
  • Ashhtami (8th tithi)– He is very sensual. He is very attached or loves his wife and children. He may be suffering from kapha related problems.
  • Navami (9th tithi)– He will be famous. He has very charming body or Tejasvi or looking attractive. He has bad wife and bad children. He is sensual.
  • Dashmi (10th Thithi) – He is very Punyatma.  His wife and children is expert in talking. He is honorable and wealthy.
  • Ekadashi (11th Thithi)– He is worshiping God and Brahman. He has many servants. He has many types of wealth.
  • Dwadashi (12th Thithi)-He is very interesting towards doing religious deeds. He is liberal. He is wealthy and scholar.
  • Tryodashi (13th Thithi)– He is very greedy and very sensual. He is wealthy.
  • Chaturdashi (14th Thithi)-He is very firecy temper, he has desires of other wives and wealth.
  • Amavasya– He is man who worship ancient and God
  • Purnima – He brings fame for his kul or vansh. He is very cheerful and happy minded.

Next part we lernt about impact of Lunar month and mass etc.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *